## Town of Perry DRAFT Minutes of Discussion Session 2022 Referendum - Mt. Horeb Area School District Tuesday, October 11, 2022 Perry Town Hall

 Call to order. Town Chairman Roger Kittleson called the discussion session to order at 7:35PM. Town Supervisors Ken Hefty and Mick Klein Kennedy, Clerk Mary Price and Treasurer – Deputy Clerk Stephanie Zwettler were present. Also in attendance: Michele Kittleson, Mark Eastman, Dr. Steve Salerno, Royce Nelson, Duane Iverson, David Anderson, Jeff Anderson, Mary Ann Nelson, Jeff Helgeson.

Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman Roger Kittleson led the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. Mt. Horeb Area School District Referendum discussion – Dr. Steve Salerno, Mt. Horeb Area School District Supt., presented background information and basis used to present the referendum question to the voters on the November 8, 2022 ballot: "Shall the Mount Horeb Area School District, Dane and Iowa Counties, Wisconsin be authorized to exceed the revenue limit specified in Section 121.91, Wisconsin Statutes, by \$4,820,000 beginning with the 2023-2024 school year and continuing indefinitely, for recurring purposes consisting of operation expenses related to attracting and retaining staff, maintaining current programs and services and paying for increasing costs?"

Dr. Salerno provided clarifications and information in response to questions presented by Royce Nelson, Duane Iverson, Mary Ann Nelson and David Anderson.

Michele Kittleson, Roger Kittleson and Mick Klein Kennedy commented on experiences in the school district.

3. Adjournment - 8:15PM.

Mary L. Price, Town Clerk www.perry-wi.gov